movement, movement

All I Want Is To Want One Thing

Posted in music, poetry, quotes, religion by amoslanka on September 8, 2008

If you fail to see a problem,
(Which I find hard to believe)
Or if you’re hanging on from branches
Licking honey from the leaves you say
“The hopelessness of living, the childishness of suicide”
But there’s a call to love my brother
That can never be destroyed however much you talk,
However well you talk you make a certain sense
It’s still only stupid talk, however much I strut around,
However loud I sing the Shining One inside me won’t say anything,

Oh, to want one thing!
Purity of heart is to want one thing.

All I want is to want one thing.

Such beauty and simplicity do I rarely find. One place I always find it is in mewithoutYou. This is from a song called “Leaf”.

Tagged with: , , ,

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. rae said, on September 8, 2008 at 6:15 pm

    I could read/discuss mewithoutYou lyrics all day long. :) I see a few more mewithoutYou tattoos in my future…

  2. Joel Goodman said, on September 9, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Hey thanks for the comment on my blog. It’s good to meet another friend of the Stonestreets, albeit virtually.

  3. adamu said, on September 9, 2008 at 6:06 pm

    I had never heard of mewithoutYou before you. So I am off to find about them. Thanks Amos.

  4. sarah said, on September 9, 2008 at 9:30 pm

    the summer after i graduated college, i was the arts and crafts director at a camp in Michigan….and all around my craft house i had hung various mewithoutyou lyrics on construction paper backdrops that depicted scenes related to the songs. i loved them. they probably never got read, but i thought the lyrics were too profound and visual do let them be enjoyed alone.


Leave a Reply

