movement, movement

Life-Duty-Joy

Posted in philosophy, quotes by amoslanka on October 27, 2008

I slept and dreamt that life was joy. I awoke and saw that life was duty. I acted and beheld that duty was joy. 

– Rabindranath Tagore

(ht)

I’ve been exploring today the idea of duty. I have nothing to add at the moment. But if this quote inspires you, you may want to look into Immanual Kant and his philosophy of the categorical imperative. Big words, I know. I’m still chewing on it all. Lets talk about duty. Why and to who?

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. bmccoy said, on October 27, 2008 at 7:24 am

    almost insomuch as we were created to be dutiful toward others and because that is what we were created to do/be, it will in turn bring joy.
    to who? everyone.
    ..i think..

  2. Trevor DeVage said, on October 27, 2008 at 7:31 am

    Depends on what your duty is to. If it is an empire that you are giving your duty and joy over to you may want to reconsider. I agree that we need to “give to Caesar what is Caesar’s” but sometimes we miss out on giving to “God what is God’s.” True joy and duty comes out of having duty in ones heart for the creator. Giving to him what is his is giving of ones life, heart and soul. That is where true joy overflows into obedient duty to all we come into contact with. I am still wrestling with this idea as well, but I love that the discussion is open here. Thanks.

  3. amoslanka said, on October 27, 2008 at 11:18 am

    @Trevor — agreed, there is no disconnect between the derived joy and to whom duty is directed. Is it possible to owe duty to anything other than a religious belief? In asking this I do not remove nationalism from the category of dogmatic belief systems.

    And as bmccoy suggests, perhaps duty is due to everyone. To humanity? Perhaps. It would seem that the doctrine of Love suggests this. But what of the sheer magnitude of humanity? Or does its practice come down simply to “think globally, act locally”?

  4. Trevor DeVage said, on October 27, 2008 at 11:38 am

    @amoslanka-I totally agree with you. I believe that if our duty is to the Creator it cannot help but spill over through acts of love and generosity to the world around us. My last comment would have given some indication that I was separating “spiritual life” from “everyday life”. Don’t think you can separate, nor should you separate them. I agree that duty is due to everyone for sure. That is where true joy stems out of. Thanks for discussing with me.


Leave a Reply

