movement, movement

You See Love Is A Drink

Posted in music, poetry, quotes by amoslanka on December 5, 2008

I’m finally getting around to listening to Copeland’s new album, and am finding it as magical as their previous work. I wasn’t a fan of their last release, thinking it too poppy, but I’m rather taken aback with this album’s return to the brilliance I’ve always loved them for. Soft sythetic keys, unique fuzz melodies, and frail harmonies rivaling the genius of Eisley..
copleand_myspace_08

These lines are from the song The Day I Lost My Voice

You see love is a drink 
That goes straight to my head
And time is a lover 
And I’m caught in her stead
And the sentiment there follows me
Straight to my bed through the night

For a moment I was warm and the world made sense
For a moment here this storm had no consequence

From What Do I Know

It’s brittle and it trembles as the wind is coming toward,
And if you string it up it dries right out with time.
So raise your glass to that new dollar,
In the bank we’re reaching for.
But the drink was sweeter before we had a dime.

From Should You Return

You see the night is all I have to make me feel,
And all I want is just a love to make it hurt.
Cause all I need is something fine to make me lose.
Now it’s a funny way I find myself with you.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Stephen Stonestreet said, on December 6, 2008 at 11:15 am

    a daily listening to my ear this winter… copeland is the winter type listening blessed blessed copeland:)

  2. rachell said, on December 7, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    New music to me!!! Thank You.

  3. Bunk Price said, on December 8, 2008 at 4:32 am

    Yep. Darn good and poetic lyrics if you ask me. Filed in “Must Listen To” in my library.


Leave a Reply

