movement, movement

The Beauty of Today

Posted in books, friends, life, poetry by amoslanka on January 14, 2009

I’ve had little time to write lately, so these posts are string to which I cling to the hopes I still have in writing here. I hope any of you out there aren’t too offended by my absence. Between moving to a new apartment in the city, a two week vacation (which was well worth it), and a heavy web workload including freelance and office work, I’ve found much exploration in my heart but little time to record it. I hate more than anything the helpless feeling of beautiful times being lost in the past, but at the same time I recognize the story’s medium between its writing and telling.

The Beauty of Today:

  • Holly has the most marvelous collection of music on her shared iTunes. I am presently being soothed by Al Green.
  • Rachell sent me a bit by Mr. Gibran. “Soul and Nature converse together, while Man stands speechless and bewildered.”
  • Reading today in Till We Have Faces, Psyche has become the wife of a god, but her sister is yet unable to see the nature of the palace in which she lives. (ch. 10)
  • Video chatting with old friends will never grow old.
  • My local Zupans sells homemade cornbread. Glorious. I picked up several servings last night when I also happened to find, quite possibly, the best homemade bread I’ve ever had. Sharing dinner (and the bread) with Ryan and Holly and my somewhat new friends, Steve and Michelle made my week. The fish/bacon, potatoes, and wine, however, were better than the bread. Thats a good meal.
5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ash said, on January 15, 2009 at 6:16 am

    al green? he’s been around forever….so where you been? you’ve missed out! ha ha…glad you’re back on the horse

  2. amoslanka said, on January 15, 2009 at 9:29 pm

    oh ash.. its not as if I’ve never listened to him before. I just don’t have him on my own computer

  3. Longbrake said, on January 15, 2009 at 11:35 pm

    Are you living w/ Ryan and Holly now? We’ll be there Saturday night ’til Monday. It’d be great to see you.

  4. wiredtoinspire said, on January 16, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    I like this post a lot. It’s nice to pause to record some thoughts during busy times, even if it’s only in a list . . . Sounds like things have been breathing for you.

  5. rachell said, on January 16, 2009 at 9:02 pm

    “I recognize the story’s medium between its writing and telling.”

    yum.


Leave a Reply

