movement, movement

How I Love Omniscient Perspectives

Posted in art, portland by amoslanka on January 24, 2009

Which, in a way, translates to maps. Especially maps like Google’s.

I remember back in college, some friends and I found one of the first websites that provided archived satellite images. Of course, we looked up our home towns, our parent’s houses, our college buildings, and whatever else we could find. Those were the simple days of the internet. Before the Googles, and the Facebooks. The Twitters and the Amazons. Ok, so I’m sure Google and Amazon at least had been founded by then, but at least they weren’t taking over the world yet. 

Anyway, all that to say that I found this pretty cool site with pretty cool maps of cities. The cities are laid out according to neighborhoods in a slick modern typographic style, and me, being a lover of typography, especially condensed sans typography, naturally fell in love. And hark! Portland is among the cities chosen. I’m sure you don’t need my further inarticulate explanation. By now you’ve already seen the image below.

portlandbw

See if you can find the Sunnyside neighborhood and it will be like you’re staring down on me from on high. I’m sure I’ll get an erie feeling or two.

Also, be sure and visit Ork Posters’ site. And buy a poster, because even though I love this map, I’m not buying one.

And just for kicks, here’s more maps.

portlandoverhead

I love this city.

ranch

And I love this ranch, my parents live right there southeast of the lake. Look, Google Maps even calls it “Lanka Road”.

3 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. oscillatingintentions said, on January 24, 2009 at 12:03 pm

    i found the same website probably two months back. and i Love it. i think it is really amazing. and i can still picture the sunnyside neighborhood in my head…

  2. oscillatingintentions said, on January 24, 2009 at 12:05 pm

    i found this same website a few months back. and i Loved it. i still Love it. and i can still picture the sunnyside neighborhood in my head. how i miss it. hope the neighborhood is well…

  3. Tyler said, on January 24, 2009 at 12:26 pm

    awesome find.


Leave a Reply

