movement, movement

A Year Later

Posted in family, friends, life, outdoors, photography by amoslanka on February 7, 2009

It has officially been a year since I moved to Oregon. I can’t think of a more beautiful or more up-and-down year I’ve had, and perhaps those characteristics are correlated. I’ve been thinking very much about days past, remembering old friends, old loves, and trying to imagine how on earth I’ve been lucky enough to arrive here where I am with what I have.

These are (only a few of) the stories I hope I remember forever:

She taunts me daily.

The most honest and beautiful tree I have ever known.

The fruit.

 

The week Bryan and Beth came to visit.

 

When Ma and Pa came to visit.

_080408_4155

The many days and evenings of photography with Blaine and Beth.

The weekend Andie and Jason and Mr. Dixon came to town.

The many hikes over the summer including this one with Luke and Jillianne.

Also:

Tagged with:

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. david said, on February 7, 2009 at 8:55 pm

    man, if you’re not careful the population of oregon is going to double very quickly.

    great stories

  2. rach said, on February 7, 2009 at 9:07 pm

    Wow. This is Beautiful- and that tree nearly took my breath away. I struggle to find words to describe that kind of beauty and vibrancy, as you said. Pure Awe.

    This touches my heart- “Its been far more than one occasion that I have stopped on my way by to just gaze. And to dream. And to remember. This kind of vibrance has all sorts of effects on a person if they allow it. I’m doing my best to give my heart fearlessly.”

    Thank you for sharing.

    I am learning to accept and love that correlation. :)

    Beautiful.

  3. bananatree said, on February 7, 2009 at 9:11 pm

    Wow! Great pictures, I haven’t made it all the way down to Oregon yet, but this has convinced me to visit next time I’m in the west. I’ve been to washington and hear it gets better as you go south.

  4. Greg Althoff said, on February 9, 2009 at 1:01 pm

    Wow. nice tree shot from up the street (from your work place right? I think i’ve used google’s street view enough to actually recognize Hood River … weird) …

    and that picture of your dad is awesome! What’s on his belt buckle??

    we’d love to visit soon…

  5. Brittany said, on February 10, 2009 at 9:33 pm

    Amazing photography. I remember visiting Sisters, OR when I was a teen. I fell in love with solitude on a slow river in the fall.
    I’m glad it is appreciated.


Leave a Reply

