movement, movement

The Big Hawaiian Island, Photos Part 2

Posted in friends, landscape, life, photography, travel by amoslanka on April 27, 2009

While in Hawaii a few weeks ago, I made a one day jump over to the big island. My great friends from Hood River, Blaine and Bethany were there for a few weeks after having shot a wedding. Naturally, I had to spend at least a day with them (on an island other than the people-packed Oahu) enjoying a day with the most adventurous people I know. Here are a few photos from the day, which had started off with Kona coffee, snorkeling off a lava beach, and later, journeying to the southern most point in the US and making a loop up to Kilaeua to see the lava glowing in the night. I’ll have more photos to share in a few days as I (slowly) get them edited, so please be a dear and check back soon.

One of the black lava rock beaches at south point:



With the Frangers

As I think I mentioned in an earlier post containing the panoramics of Hawaii, the Southern part of the big island is covered in incredibly green rolling hills. You can’t see them in these photos, (actually I was standing on one while I shot this) but the hills were also covered with black lava rock fences. Such bold contrasting colors could never go unnoticed.¬†

One of many new friends I met on the island. I met many, but was jealous because Blaine and Beth had the chance to swim with them the evening before. We snorkeled in the morning, apparently the time they reserve for lazing on the beach.

A friend

My wide angle lens loves me dearly:

amoslanka and blainefranger

As mentioned, more to come, so please be patient with me. I also shot about 6 rolls of medium format on the islands so I will be posting some of those as well.

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. subversivechurch said, on April 27, 2009 at 6:10 pm

    In the best Napoleon Dynamite voice I can muster…”Luckyyyy.”

    In all seriousness, how big can you blow up that turtle picture? I’d love to have a print of that for my son’s room.

    Actually, I’d love to see all of your shots. I have some of Chris’ artwork up in my office, and I’d love to put some of yours up as well. As an admissions counselor, they give me place to daydream about other than Jersey, and are great conversation pieces.

    -mike

  2. david said, on April 27, 2009 at 8:00 pm

    amazing bro. i’m always excited by the promise of more photos!

  3. sarah said, on April 29, 2009 at 2:08 pm

    LOVE that first one. i dont think ive seen that one yet..

  4. Whitney said, on May 1, 2009 at 7:58 am

    oh my goodness….third picture down…amazing! that picture makes me want to go roll around in the grass. nice shot.

    have i mentioned that i’m INSANELY jealous of your trip?? :)

    -whit

  5. Me, Underwater « movement, movement said, on June 13, 2009 at 1:13 am

    […] travel by amoslanka on June 13, 2009 While in Hawaii in April, I of course met up with Blaine and Bethany for a day and that morning we spent with the turtles and fish just off shore near Kona. At that time of day, […]


Leave a Reply

