movement, movement

Expectations

Posted in life, religion by amoslanka on November 3, 2009

How can I expect to know God, how can I expect him to do anything for me/with me/through me if I’m not first doing what I can for myself? I’m not talking about success. I’m not talking about love. I’m not even talking about the feeling of peace. I’m talking about my part in the connection. I’m talking about character. I’m talking about work ethic, focus, and persistence to something beyond the bullshit insistence and triumphantism of happiness.

I can expect the dark and the bright times. I can expect and enjoy the repeated shock of cold water jumping into a stream. But without effort on my own part, without the willingness to step/dive/fall in, I can expect nothing in contrast from what I have now.

6 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. ash said, on November 9, 2009 at 11:31 am

    someone i heard speak this weekend said “you cannot shine until you burn.” …that means we have to subject ourselves to His burning, be willing, prostrate ourselves in brokenness…before we can accomplish much…shine much and move forward. good thoughts. what we put in, is what we get out.

  2. wiredtoinspire said, on November 10, 2009 at 9:23 pm

    I think there’s some of both:

    His initiative.

    And ours.

    I’m not sure where ours comes from. But I do know that I used to think I could just pray and He’d “make” it happen for me in a lot of areas. The older I get, the less inclined I am to that perspective.

  3. timmyjimi said, on December 3, 2009 at 6:23 pm

    I’m not sure when it happened, but sometime over the past year, I started to get really annoyed with myself for praying things like “make me holy” or “help me to love.” Of course, we need God’s help to do those things. The Lord’s Prayer says “deliver us from temptation,” but Paul writes “work out your own salvation.” Expecting God to do everything for us is a dangerous proposition. On the other hand, you say you’re “not talking about love,” so maybe I’m missing your point?

  4. amoslanka said, on December 23, 2009 at 4:17 pm

    timmyjimi, my point might not be obvious enough, but I admit its not necessarily plain words. What I’m speaking of is much more the inward connection with the Great as opposed to the outward works.

  5. Kurt Willems said, on February 23, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Thanks for this post, I think that some times people expect God to “fall in their lap” and they forget that He has already taken initiative with us… the ball is now in our court. If we want to experience “shalom” we must do all we can to position ourselves to experience this reality. It is from such a posture that God “shows up…”

    thanks!

  6. laughlivemedia said, on March 27, 2010 at 9:46 am

    I am learning in my relationship with God, that step by step, choose by choose, yes by yes, in being in obedience to Him I am saying I love you and want You in my life. He will meet me there. The Holy Spirit is in me already God dwells in me. I am not content with things of this world to feed me and to please my soul. I have learned only God can fill the longings and voids in my heart. I see a difference in when I go for long period of time not reading the word of God how easy it is to feel God far away i am suffocating easier to believe the lies of the enemy. God choose me knowing I was a sinner and even after being saved that I was not going to be perfect in my relationship with Him. He delights in us so much Loves us more then we love ourselves. their is nothing I can do to earn anything form Him. He wants to be in a relationship with me and only In His help as i lay my life down to Him will I be able to love be in peace…I am learning that God wants me to be in complete dependence in Him trust Him in His leadership over my life that He knows whats best. As I may feel some days What Can I Do God to be with You to feel You to know You are in me, I heard Him say to me “go back to the heart of worship”. All I know is that for me that was as simple as going back to basic… Just look straight ahead at God and sit at His feet….
    It has been awhile since I stop by your blog…I am glad I did…


Leave a Reply

