movement, movement

Europe: A Preamble

Posted in life, travel by amoslanka on May 5, 2010

Laura Dart and I are taking a trip. We’re going to Europe. I think there may be listeners out there who would like to hear about what we decide to do, especially with little planning, and so we will post some of our writings here on this blog. I’ll try to label who wrote what, but you can assume all the good writing is by Laura because she’s a better writer than I.

Some history:

I’ve recently been offered a new job, which in accepting, has provided me with enough free time in between to travel. I haven’t had this much time off all at once (a whole month) since I moved to Oregon over two years ago. So one night I call Laura on the telephone, and I say, “Lets take a trip.” She replies with an “Oh yes!” and we promptly begin planning.

What you may generally expect:

Since it benefits my idiom, I’ll try to be as free-form as possible, and Laura may play the sweet and well-composed companion who’s great goal in life is to laugh. This may or may not lead us to mention the things we do or do not end up doing as we travel and the thoughts we may or may not have. Either way, consider the following posts until the end of this trip to be just for our own fun, and as way to bring you with us. I think the first things I’ll talk about are the places we plan to go and the few things we’re bringing with us. There will likely be more cameras on this trip than shoes, maps, or pairs of pants.

The plan so far:

May 5th: Fly to Nashville (To see Becca and pick up Laura)
May 7th: Fly to London.
May 10th: Train to Paris.
May 14th: Train or car to Marseilles.
May 15th: Somehow get to Spain and spend the rest of the trip exploring the Mediterranean coast. Barcelona. Valencia. Seville? Gibraltar/Morocco?
May 24th: Fly back to the US, arrive in Oklahoma City to visit my sister and her husband.
May 27th: Drive to Stapleton, Nebraska to spend two days with my parents. (Including the classic ranch event, the branding)
May 30th: Fly home to Portland.
June 1st: Start a new job.

Tagged with: ,

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. seth said, on May 17, 2010 at 12:36 pm

    “Since it benefits my idiom, I’ll try to be as free-form as possible, and Laura may play the sweet and well-composed companion who’s great goal in life is to laugh.”

    this is one of my favorite sentences of yours yet

  2. Tarnna said, on May 18, 2010 at 9:03 pm

    If ever you find yourself visiting the Napa Valley, keep me in mind! You’ll have a place to stay and wonderful wine to try.


Leave a Reply

